Motor Vehicle Accident Care
If your car has been injured, most likely your body has sustained damage as well.
Oregonians should know that their auto insurance pays for massage therapy to help recover from auto accidents.
I make it easy for you to begin your massage treatments. If you’ve opened a claim with your auto insurance company, the next step is to call me. I will take care of the details and make it easy for you.
If you were injured in a car accident, your auto insurance will pay for your massage therapy treatments. All auto insurance policies in the State of Oregon include Personal Injury Protection (PIP); this extension of your insurance will pay for massage therapy regardless of who was determined to be “at fault.” This coverage allows you to be treated for your auto accident related injuries with a simple referral from your chiropractor, naturopath, osteopath or medical doctor.
My office has experience providing medical massage therapy for auto accident injuries. It is often the body’s soft tissues (muscles, tendons and other connective tissues) that are injured in auto accidents. I am highly skilled in treating auto accident injuries including whiplash, neck and back injuries, tendon damage, muscle spasms, myofascial pain, headaches, migraines, and insomnia.
Auto Injury/Medical Massage
Medical massage is a term that refers to special techniques used when massage is part of the overall treatment of medical problems stemming from trauma to the body. This form of massage is often, but not always, done under the instruction of a physician in the case of work-related injuries or auto injuries and focuses on addressing the affected area(s). I will conduct a thorough health intake during each massage session and develop a treatment plan to provide you with the most appropriate treatment for your injury. I will document progress and work closely with other health care providers to provide you with the best care. At regular intervals, I will send progress reports to your referring health care provider to keep them up to date with the treatments. Your massage may include advanced myofascial techniques, craniosacral therapy, deep tissue techniques, relax and contract techniques and Trigger point techniques on the affected muscles and joints.
What You Need To Bring
I will need the following at the time of your first visit:
*Name of insurance company
*Name and phone number of your insurance representative (if available)
*A prescription for massage therapy from your doctor (M.D., Chiropractor, Osteopath or Naturopath)
Ask your doctor for a prescription.I keep the referring doctor informed of your progress through regular Patient Status Reports and are happy to speak directly with them at any time if they have questions or suggestions.
Your Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage will pay for massage treatments relevant to your injuries for up to 2 years from the date of the accident or until your PIP benefits are exhausted (check with your insurance company for specifics). It is important, therefor, to know the approximate balance of your PIP benefits throughout this time of healing.
I am currently accepting Personal Injury/Auto Accident claims. I bill $38.87 per 15 minute increment comparable to the current massage and manual therapy rate set by the State of Oregon Workers Compensation Fee Schedule.* Please see my Rates page for more details.
**Insurance policies and laws vary from state to state and from one policy to another. These are general statements and may or may not reflect your own policy. Please inform yourself about your own coverage.
**Please note that I offer a significant discount for payments made at the time of service. It is always an option for my clients to pay at the time of service. If you prefer to pay at the time of service and are wanting to be reimbursed by your insurance company, I can provide you with a superbill.